Napapijri Film Salon Series - Steep

steep-movieCulture Catch and Napapijri are pleased to continue our Film Salon series with a private VIP screening of award-winning documentary Steep with the director Mark Obenhaus and the executive producer Tom Yellin of the Documentary Group on Thursday, November 13th at 7 pm at the 149 Mercer Street (between Prince & Houston), NYC, 212-431-4490.

The 9th film of our monthly series celebrates the world of extreme skiing.

Praise for the film from Chicago Tribune critic Scott Schueller: 

"Few documentaries are able to isolate their purpose from an audience's craving for human interest stories. There always seems to be a character who leaves the lasting impression, rather than the film's subject matter. Steep is one of those rare endeavors able to touch on the human condition without neglecting the film's true star: big-mountain skiing."

Following the screening there will be a robust audience Q & A/discussion with the director and executive producer that will be taped for a future video podcast. And we will co-host a private cocktail and food reception with our invited guests before the screening begins.

We're giving away two pairs of tickets to this special evening; just send us an email answering these four questions:

What culture invented skiing?

Name one American extreme skier?

What American director has made the most ski movies?

True or False: "Napapijri" means "Polar Circle" in Finnish. Email your answers to us today.

peace, Dusty & Richard

Co-sponsored by our friends at Izze Sparkling Beverages and Tito's Handmade Vodka.


The WOODSTOCK FILM FESTIVAL which will celebrate its Tenth Anniversary Sept 30 - Oct 4 is now accepting entries for 2009. Awards are presented for Best Feature, Best Documentary, Best Short Documentary, Best Short Film, Best Student Film, Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Animation. Cash, prizes and/or services are given out in each category (to see 2008 details and jurors visit . Audience Awards are presented for Best Feature and Best Documentary. Award sponsors have included The Lee Marvin Estate (Best Feature), The James Lyons Estate (Best Editing), Panavision (Haskell Wexler Cinematographer Award), Lowel-Light, Apple Computers, Final Draft, Post Factory, A&E Indie Films, Docurama, Kodak, Markertek, Baseline, and others.

Early deadline May 25. Final deadline June 22. Entry fee range from $10 - $50.

Industry participants have included Steve Buscemi, Peter Saraf (Big Beach Films), Jonathan Sehring (IFC), Ted Sarandos (Netflix), Bob Berney (Picturehouse), Eamonn Bowles (Magnolia Pictures), Mark Urman (THINKFilm), Bingham Ray (Kimmel Entertainmen), James Schamus (Focus Features), Fisher Stevens (Greenstreet Productions), John Sloss (Cinetic Media), Ira Deutchman (Emerging Pictures), Ron Mann (Films We Like), John Pierson (Grainy Pictures), Christine Vachon (Killer Films), Ira Schreck, Mira Nair, Todd Haynes, Woody Harrelson, Tim Robbins, Marcia Gay Harden, Lili Taylor, D.A. Pennebaker, Albert Maysles, Barbara Kopple, Leon Gast, Liz Garbus, Brett Morgen, Thelma Adams, Robert Downey, Zachary Sklar, Daniel Day Lewis, Kevin Bacon, Ethan Hawke, Matt Dillon, Rosie Perez, Kevin Smith, Ang Lee, and many others.

To apply online, and for details, visit